No laptop, No fun

November 13, 2007

A couple of weeks ago my laptop stopped working. It just stopped turning on. So I sent it to the Little Laptop shop in the LES. There it sat a whole weekend, alone. The techie called me on Monday to report the sad news that the problem was the motherboard. A hard to find $450 part that wasn’t worth it for a laptop this old.
I was sad. The laptop had been invaluable to me over the past year. I took class notes, read email and RSS feeds on it. Wrote reports. Used it for PowerPoint presentations while Student teaching 7th and 8th graders. Watched movies on it with my wife. Good times good times indeed.
Being away from my laptop , and using other machines, made me realize how personal computing has become. I felt at home on that Thinkpad. I had moved in and done all the interior decorating. Everything was where I wanted it. Firefox was bling’d out.
There is a good ending to this story. I gave it to my brother and he turned it on. He didn’t even do anything to it either. It just worked again. My laptop, resurrected from the dead. Now hes backing up the data and installing Unbutu on a dual boot. I hope he gives it back soon, cause i miss my baby.
laptop sical boot. I hope he gives it back soon, cause i miss my baby.

Leave a Reply

