I miss the LIRR

December 9, 2006

I know it sounds weird but I kinda like the commute from Long Island to NYC.  There is  rhythm and beat to being a LIRR commuter.  Yea there are lots of things wrong with the LIRR/ MTA and they pull a lot of bullshit all the time.  I used to commute from Long Island to 125th street to go to City College.  That time sitting on the train or the subway was nice.  I got to drink a coffee and read the paper.  Or I could draw in my notebook or just sleep.  It was a way for me to slowly wake up to the day, or to detox on the way home.  Now I drive 10 minutes to work, and it could be one of the most stressful part of my day.   There are trucks and taxis and potholes like you wouldn’t believe.  Then I need to find a parking spot. I might even get a flat from all the garbage on the street.  Maybe I’m just sick of driving all the time.

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

